1866 French inventor Pierre Lallement patents rotary crank bicycle
1915 CFL Grey Cup, Varsity Stadium, Toronto: Hamilton Tigers win 2nd title; beat Toronto Rowing Association, 13-7
1934 Toronto Maple Leaf Harvey Jackson is 1st to score 4 goals in a period
1942 NHL abolishes regular season OT until WW II is over
1952 Chicago Cubs slugging left fielder Hank Sauer wins NL MVP
1955 Kripal Singh scores 100 on Test Cricket debut, India v NZ
1955 Polly Umrigar scores India’s 1st Test Cricket double century, 223 v NZ
1960 Australian driver Jack Brabham finishes 4th in season-ending US Grand Prix at Riverside Raceway to retain his F1 World Drivers Championship by 9 points from Bruce McLaren of New Zealand
1966 Dallas sacks Pittsburgh QBs an NFL record 12 times
1969 Gundappa Viswanath scores 137 on Test Cricket debut v Australia Kanpur
1977 Steve Largent begins NFL streak of 177 consecutive game receptions
1977 27th NASCAR Sprint Cup: Cale Yarborough wins
1983 Cleveland Browns shutout Patriots 30-0
1983 NY Giants Butch Woolfolk ties NFL record of 43 attempts rushing
1983 33rd NASCAR Sprint Cup: Bobby Allison wins
1988 Boston College beats Army 38-24 in the ‘Emerald isle Classic’ at Dublin’s Lansdowne Road Stadium, the first NCAA American Football game to be played in Europe
1988 Argentine tennis star Gabriela Sabatini beats Pam Shriver 7–5, 6–2, 6–2 to win her first WTA Tour Championship at Madison Square Garden, NYC
1989 Milwaukee Brewers center fielder Robin Yount wins AL MVP
1990 Sacramento Kings last NBA win on the road for over a year
1991 Atlanta Braves Terry Pendleton wins NL MVP
1993 58th Iron Bowl: Auburn beats Alabama 22-14 in Auburn
1993 5th College Football Holy War: Boston College beats Notre Dame 41-39 in South Bend (Boston College’s first win in the series)
1994 Unseeded Argentine tennis star Gabriela Sabatini claims WTA Tour Championship with a 6-3, 6-2, 6-4 win over American Lindsay Davenport at Madison Square Garden, NYC
1997 Last original Florida Marlin, Jeff Conine, traded to KC Royals
1997 Mavericks’ A C Green sets NBA record of 907 consecutive games played
1997 NY Islanders lose, beginning a 10 game losing streak
1999 64th Iron Bowl: Alabama beats Auburn 28-17 in Auburn
1999 11th College Football Holy War: Boston College beats Notre Dame 31-29 in South Bend
2000 52nd NASCAR Sprint Cup: Bobby Labonte wins
2004 69th Iron Bowl: Auburn beats Alabama 21-13 in Tuscaloosa
2005 57th NASCAR Sprint Cup: Tony Stewart wins
2006 58th NASCAR Sprint Cup: Jimmie Johnson wins
2011 Presidents Cup Golf, Royal Melbourne GC: Jim Furyk wins all 5 of his matches as US beats International team, 19-15
2016 Jimmie Johnson driving for Hendrick Motorsports, wins Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Florida to claim record equalling 7th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series; Richard Petty & Dale Earnhardt, 7 titles

(Visited 25 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *