1906 Australasian Championships Men’s Tennis, Christchurch, NZ: All-NZ final; Antony Wilding beats Francis Fisher 6-0, 6-4, 6-4
1918 Kid Gleason replaces Pants Rowland as White Sox manager
1920 Roy Park makes 1st-ball duck in only Test Cricket inn, v Eng at MCG
1920 International Lawn Tennis Challenge, Auckland, NZ: Bill Johnson & Bill Tilden (US) beat Norman Brookes & Gerald Patterson (Australasia) 6-4, 4-6, 6-0, 6-4 for an unassailable 3-0 lead; ends 5-0
1921 Australasian Championships Men’s Tennis, Perth: Australian Rhys Gemmell beats countryman Alf Hedeman 7-5, 6-1, 6-4
1950 Jockeys Bill Shoemaker & Joe Culmone set record of 388 wins in a year
1952 41st Davis Cup: Australia beats USA in Adelaide (4-1)
1953 42nd Davis Cup: Australia beats USA in Melbourne (3-2)
1958 47th Davis Cup: USA beats Australia in Brisbane (3-2)
1958 Bill Shoemaker 1st jockey to win national riding championship 4X
1962 American Basketball League announces suspension of operation
1966 Test Cricket debut of Bishen Singh Bedi, India v WI Calcutta, 2-92
1967 1st NBA game at Great Western Forum, LA Lakers beat Houston 147-118
1967 NFL Championship, Lambeau Field, Green Bay: Green Bay Packers beat Dallas Cowboys, 21-17; ”The Ice Bowl”, -13°F
1968 NY Jets win AFL championship
1970 Would have been start of Aust/Eng Test Cricket at MCG, washed out
1972 AFC Championship, Three Rivers Stadium, Pittsburgh: Miami Dolphins beat Pittsburgh Steelers, 21-7
1972 Australian Open Women’s Tennis: Margaret Court beats Evonne Goolagong Cawley 6-4, 7-5 for her record 11th and final Australian singles crown
1972 NFC Championship, RFK Stadium, Washington, D.C.: Washington Redskins beat Dallas Cowboys 26-3
1972 39th Sugar Bowl: #2 Oklahoma beats #5 Penn State, 14-0
1973 40th Sugar Bowl: #3 Notre Dame beats #1 Alabama, 24-23
1974 New York Yankees sign Cy Young Award winner Jim ”Catfish” Hunter for 5 years for a record $3.75 million from the Oakland A’s
1974 41st Sugar Bowl: #8 Nebraska beats #18 Florida, 13-10
1974 Ballon d’Or: Ajax forward Johan Cruyff wins back-to-back awards, and his 3rd overall, for best European football player ahead of Bayern Munich defender Franz Beckenbauer and Legia Warsaw midfielder Kazimierz Deyna
1975 42nd Sugar Bowl: #3 Alabama beats #7 Penn State, 13-6
1980 NY Islanders greatest shutout margin (9-0) vs Chicago Black Hawks
1984 Test Cricket debut of Mohammad Azharuddin, v England at Calcutta
1989 Jockey Kent Desormeaux sets record with 598 wins in a year
1991 Daniel R McCarthy elected NY Yankee managing general partner
1991 J Donald Crump resigned as CFL Commissioner
1995 Matthew Elliott scores separate cricket century same day for Victoria
1995 62nd Sugar Bowl: #13 Virginia Tech beats #9 Texas, 28-10
1996 63rd Orange Bowl: #6 Nebraska beats #10 Virginia Tech, 41-21
1997 72 year-old Marv Levy retires as coach of the NFL Buffalo Bills after 12 seasons, including 4 consecutive losing Super Bowl appearances
1997 27th Fiesta Bowl: #10 Kansas State beats #14 Syracuse, 35-18
1997 Buffalo’s Czech NHL goalie Dominik Hasek stops 36 shots for his 27th career shutout in Sabres’ 3-0 win over Ottawa Senators; his 6th shutout in month of December; first since George Hainsworth in 1928-29 to achieve the feat
2006 The final contest at the old Lansdowne Road Stadium in Dublin is a rugby match with Leinster beating Ulster 20-12 in a Celtic League game
2014 44th Fiesta Bowl: #20 Boise State beats #10 Arizona, 38-30
2014 81st Orange Bowl: #10 Georgia Tech beats #8 Mississippi State, 49-34
2015 82nd Orange Bowl: #1 Clemson beats #4 Oklahoma, 37-17
2017 Cleveland Browns crash to a 28-24 loss to Pittsburgh Steelers at Heinz Field to become only the 2nd team in NFL history to finish season with 0-16 record
2018 Houston guard James Harden scores 43 points in Rockets’ 113-101 win over Memphis Grizzlies; 4th straight NBA game with 40+ points and 8th straight with 35+; joins Oscar Robertson as only player with at least 35 points & 5 assists in 8 straight games

(Visited 47 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *