1862 First baseball enclosure opens at Union Grounds, Brooklyn
1876 2nd Kentucky Derby: Bobby Swim aboard Vagrant wins in 2:38.25
1894 20th Kentucky Derby: Frank Goodale aboard Chant wins in 2:41
1906 NY Giants’ Hooks Wiltse strikes out 4 batters in 1 inning
1912 37th Preakness: Clarnence Turner on Colonel Holloway wins in 1:56.6
1918 43rd Preakness: Johnny Loftus aboard War Cloud wins in 1:53.6
1919 Brooklyn Dodgers score 10 runs in 13th to beat Reds 10-0
1920 Soccer team ADO ’20 forms in Heemskerk
1926 52nd Kentucky Derby: Albert Johnson on Bubbling Over wins in 2:03.8
1935 Pirates beat Phillies 20-5
1937 62nd Preakness: Charley Kurtsinger aboard War Admiral wins in 1:58.4
1944 Cincinnati Red Clyde Shoun no-hits Boston Braves, 1-0
1952 Johnny Longden becomes 2nd jockey to ride 4,000 winners
1959 100th anniversary of 1st college baseball game, between Amherst & Williams Teams reenact the original contest
1963 Tottenham Hotspur of England win 3rd European Cup winner’s Cup against Atlético Madrid of Spain 5-1 at Rotterdam
1964 Sporting Portugal win 4th European Cup Winner’s Cup against MTK Budapest of Hungry 1-0 at Antwerp (replay)
1965 90th Preakness: Ron Turcotte aboard Tom Rolfe wins in 1:56.2
1965 Canadian Football Players Association organizes
1966 1st day of Sunday play in County Cricket, Essex v Somerset
1970 International Olympic Committee votes to expel South Africa
1971 96th Preakness: Gustavo Avila aboard Canonero II wins in 1:54
1976 101st Preakness: John Lively aboard Elocutionist wins in 1:55
1980 Flyers score 8 goals against Islanders in playoffs
1982 107th Preakness: Jack Kaenel aboard Aloma’s Ruler wins in 1:55.4
1985 Everton of England wins 25th European Cup Winner’s Cup against Rapid Wien of Austria 3-1 in Rotterdam
1987 Record archery score for a pair over 24 hrs, is set
1989 Blue Jays fire manager Jimy Williams & replace him with Cito Gaston
1989 US Basketball League cancels its summer schedule
1990 Edmonton Oiler Klima beats Boston Bruins in 6th period
1991 Manchester United of England win 31th European Cup Winner’s Cup against FC Barcelona 2-1 in Rotterdam
1991 Red Sox & White Sox play then slowest 9 inning game (4:11)
1993 118th Preakness: Mike Smith aboard Prairie Bayou wins in 1:56.6
1999 124th Preakness: Chris Antley wins aboard Charismatic for the second leg of an unsuccessful Triple Crown campaign
1999 Columbus Crew Stadium (now Historic Crew Stadium), the 1st Major League Soccer stadium constructed in the United States
2002 10th UEFA Champions League Final: Real Madrid beats Bayer Leverkusen 2-1 at Glasgow
2004 129th Preakness: Stewart Elliott aboard Smarty Jones wins in 1:55.59
2010 Jessica Watson at age 16 becomes the youngest person to sail solo, non-stop and unassisted around the world
2010 135th Preakness: Martin Garcia aboard Lookin At Lucky wins in 1:55.47
2010 English FA Cup Final, Wembley Stadium, London (88,335): Chelsea beats Portsmouth,1-0; Didier Drogba scores 59′ winner; Blues’ 6th title
2011 PGA Players Championship, TPC at Sawgrass: K. J. Choi of South Korea defeats David Toms on the first hole of a sudden-death playoff to win $1.71 million winner’s cheque
2016 PGA Players Championship, TPC at Sawgrass: World #1 and reigning PGA Champion Jason Day of Australia leads wire-to-wire to win by 4 strokes ahead of Kevin Chappell

(Visited 28 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *