1810 English bare-knuckle boxer Tom Cribb beats African-American Tom Molineaux in 33rd of 40 round bout at Copthall Common, England; first interracial boxing match
1831 ”Spirit of the Times” begins publishing in New York City, the premier sports journal of the 19th century
1918 John Heyder becomes president of baseball’s National League for the 2nd time
1919 NL votes to ban the spitball’s use by all new pitchers
1922 Pete Henry makes longest known NFL drop-kicked field goal, 45 yards
1922 1st National Football League Championship: undefeated Canton Bulldogs (10-0-2) named inaugural champions
1924 Agreement reached on permanent rotation of World Series with each league, getting games 1, 2, 6, 7 in alternating years
1934 NFL adopts player waiver rule; applies after 6th game of season
1935 White Sox sell Al Simmons to the Tigers for $75,000
1938 CFL Grey Cup: In repeat of last year, Toronto Argonauts defeat Winnipeg Blue Bombers, 30-7 to retain Championship
1945 Aust Services lose 3rd Victory Test Cricket to India by 6 wkts
1954 Philadelphia Phillies purchase Connie Mack Stadium
1965 Test Cricket debut of Doug Walters v England at the Gabba
1970 North American Soccer League awards NY & Toronto franchises
1978 67th Davis Cup: USA beats Great Britain in Rancho Mirage (4-1)
1978 Islanders ends 15 game undefeated streak (12-0-3) to Canadians
1983 Last NFL game at Shea Stadium; Steelers beat NY Jets 34-7
1986 Atlanta Hawk Dominique Wilkins scores 57 points vs Chicago Bulls
1988 Washington Capitals 1st NHL scoreless tie, vs Montreal Canadiens
1992 NHL awards franchises to Miami & Anaheim for 1994-95
1992 NY Yankees sign free agent pitcher Jimmy Key
1994 60th Heisman Trophy Award: Rashaan Salaam, Colorado (RB)
1995 1st meeting of NBA expansion teams, Raptors beat Grizzlies 93-81
1995 Ricky Ponting makes 96 on Test Cricket debut (Aust v Sri Lanka, WACA)
2000 89th Davis Cup: Spain beats Australia in Barcelona (3-1)
2001 67th Heisman Trophy Award: Eric Crouch, Nebraska (QB)
2005 71st Heisman Trophy Award: Reggie Bush, USC (RB); Bush later forfeits trophy
2012 78th Heisman Trophy Award: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (QB); first freshman to win the award
2016 82nd Heisman Trophy Award: Lamar Jackson, Louisville Cardinals (QB), youngest player to win at 19

(Visited 29 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *