1940 National Football League Championship, Griffith Stadium, Washington, D.C.: Chicago Bears beat Washington Redskins, 73-0; most one-sided victory in NFL history; first NFL title game broadcast on national radio
1942 8th Heisman Trophy Award: Frank Sinkwich, Georgia (HB)
1948 14th Heisman Trophy Award: Doak Walker, SMU (HB)
1953 19th Heisman Trophy Award: Johnny Lattner, Notre Dame (HB)
1955 21st Heisman Trophy Award: Howard Cassady, Ohio State (HB)
1956 XVI Summer Olympic Games close in Melbourne, Australia; start of an Olympic tradition – amidst international tensions, athletes mingle together, parade into and around MCG arena for final appearance to close the Games
1960 MLB expansion team Los Angeles Angels sign a 4 year lease to use Dodger Stadium
1961 Larry Costello scores 32 consecutive pts without a miss (NBA rec)
1967 NHL California Seals change name to Oakland Seals
1973 39th Heisman Trophy Award: John Cappelletti, Penn State (RB)
1977 43rd Heisman Trophy Award: Earl Campbell, Texas (RB)
1978 Commencement of the 1st day/night World Series Cricket supertest at VFL Park, Melbourne
1988 Knick’s set NBA record of 11 3-pointers & sink Bucks, 113-109
2001 10th SEC Championship Game: #21 LSU beats #2 Tennessee, 31-20
2007 73rd Heisman Trophy Award: Tim Tebow, Florida (QB)
2011 The NBA and players union reach financial agreement to end a 161-day lockout, shortening the season by 16 games
2018 84th Heisman Trophy Award: Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (QB)

(Visited 7 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *