1871 Philadelphia Athletics beat Chicago for 1st National Association baseball pennant
1919 Baseball league presidents call for abolishment of spitball
1922 Anxious to compete with the Yankees, the NY Giants pay $65,000 & 3 players for Jack Bentley (hit .349 & was 13-2 as pitcher for Baltimore (International League) in 1922)
1952 4th NASCAR Sprint Cup: Tim Flock wins
1954 1st use of 24-sec shot clock in pro basketball (Rochester vs Boston)
1955 7th NASCAR Sprint Cup: Tim Flock wins
1956 Dodgers sell Ebbets Field to a real estate group. They agree to stay until 1959, with an option to stay until 1961
1960 12th NASCAR Sprint Cup: Rex White wins
1966 16th NASCAR Sprint Cup: David Pearson wins
1967 Arthur Allyn says White Sox will play 9 games in Milwaukee in 1968
1967 Ferdinand Bracke bicycles world record time (48,093 km)
1975 Giants pitcher John ”the Count of” Montefusco wins NL Rookie of Year
1975 John Bucyk, Boston, became 7th NHLer to score 500 goals
1988 NY Jets finally beat Pittsburgh Steelers for 1st time
1993 Toronto Maple Leafs lose 1st game of season after going 10-0-0
2004 Breeders’ Cup Horse Racing, Lone Star Park; winners: Ghostzapper, Wilko, Ashado, Better Talk Now, Oujja Board, Sweet Catomine, Singletary, Speightstown
2011 Czech tennis star Petra Kvitová beats Victoria Azarenka of Belarus 7–5, 4–6, 6–3 in the WTA Championship decider in Istanbul, Turkey
2013 Baseball World Series: Boston Red Sox beat St Louis Cardinals, 6-1 in Game 6 at Fenway Park to win title; MVP: Boston slugger David Ortiz
2015 Breeders’ Cup Horse Racing, Keeneland Racetrack; Day 1 winners: Hit It A Bomb, Liam’s Map, Catch A Glimpse, Stopchargingmaria
2015 Polish tennis star Agnieszka Radwańska wins the WTA Finals title at Kallang. Singapore; beats Czech Petra Kvitová 6–2, 4–6, 6–3
2016 Slovak tennis star Dominika Cibulková beats Germany’s Angelique Kerber 6-3, 6-4 to win the WTA Finals title decider in Kallang, Singapore
2016 Oakland Raiders break the single game record for most penalties in an NFL game gaining 23 in win over Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2019 Baseball World Series: Washington Nationals beat Houston Astros, 6-2 in Game 7 at Minute Maid Park, Houston to win first title in franchise history; MVP: Washington pitcher Stephen Strasburg

(Visited 19 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *