1858 Fee 1st charged to see a baseball game (50 cents) (NY beats Bkln 22-18)
1896 Wimbledon Men’s Tennis: Harold Mahony beats 3-time champion Wilfred Baddeley 6-2, 6-8, 5-7, 8-6, 6-3
1906 Brooklyn Superbas pitcher Mal Eason no-hits St Louis Cardinals, 2-0 at Robison Field, St. Louis
1911 Boston Red Sox Smokey Joe Wood no-hits St Louis Browns, 5-0
1912 Phillies Sherry Magee steals home twice in 1 game
1916 NY Giants trade future Baseball HOF pitcher Christy Mathewson to Cincinnati Reds
1920 Dutch soccer club Sportclub Heerenveen is formed; initially known as Athleta; KNVB Cup Champions 2008–09
1923 Yanks hit into a triple-play but beat A’s 9-2
1924 18th Tour de France won by Ottavio Bottecchia of Italy
1938 IOC awards Helsinki, Finland 1940 Summer Olympic Games after Tokyo, Japan withdraws (Second Sino-Japanese War)
1941 Yanks beat Tigers 12-6 in 17
1942 Barbados dismiss Trinidad for 16 in 69 minutes, Derek Sealy taking 8-8; West Indian cricket domestic first class record
1944 Browns Nelson Potter is 1st pitcher suspended for throwing spitballs
1947 34th Tour de France won by Jean Robic of France
1952 Emile Zatopek runs Olympic Record 10K (29:17.0)
1958 PGA Championship Men’s Golf, Llanerch CC: Dow Finsterwald wins 1st PGA C’ship held in current stroke play format; wins by 2 from Billy Casper
1965 NY Yankee pitcher Mel Stottlemyre hits an inside-the-park grand slam
1970 Dodgers Bill Singer no-hits the Phillies 5-0, giving up no walks
1973 Chic’s Wilbur Wood starts and loses both games of a doubleheader with NY Yankees, 12-2, & 7-0
1975 62nd Tour de France won by Bernard Thevenet of France
1980 67th Tour de France won by Joop Zoetemelk of Netherlands
1984 Uwe Hohn of East Germany throws javelin a record 104.8 m
1997 British Open Men’s Golf, Royal Troon: American Justin Leonard recovers from 5 strokes back after 3 rounds; wins by 3 from Darren Clarke and Jesper Parnevik
2000 The leaders of Salt Lake City’s bid to win the 2002 Winter Olympics are indicted by a federal grand jury for bribery, fraud, and racketeering
2008 British Open Men’s Golf, Royal Birkdale GC: Irishman Pádraig Harrington successfully defends his Open title; shoots 4-under par over the final 9 to be 4 strokes clear of runner-up Ian Poulter
2014 British Open Men’s Golf, Royal Liverpool GC: Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland wins wire-to-wire by 2 from Sergio Garcia & Rickie Fowler
2015 British Open Men’s Golf, St. Andrews: American Zach Johnson wins in a 4-hole play-off with Australian Marc Leishman & Louis Oosthuizen of South Africa
2021 NBA Finals: Milwaukee Bucks beat Phoenix Suns, 105-98 in Game 6 to win first title in 50 years (1971); MVP: Giannis Antetokounmpo, 50 points in Game 6

(Visited 23 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *