1860 German football club TSV 1860 München is founded
1875 1st Kentucky Derby: Oliver Lewis aboard Aristides wins in 2:37.75
1881 7th Kentucky Derby: Jim McLaughlin aboard Hindoo wins in 2:40
1894 19th Preakness: Fred Taral aboard Assignee wins in 1:49.25
1903 Cleveland Indians beat NY Highlanders 9-2 in Columbus Ohio
1905 Waseda U of Tokyo defeats LA High School 5-3 in baseball
1911 36th Preakness: Eddie Dugan aboard Watervale wins in 1:51
1915 40th Preakness: Douglas Hoffman aboard Rhine Maiden wins in 1:58
1915 Cubs George ”Zip” Zabel relieves with 2 outs in 1st & winds up with 4-3 19-inning win over Brooklyn in longest relief job ever
1924 50th Kentucky Derby: John Mooney aboard Black Gold wins in 2:05.2
1927 Chicago Cubs beat Boston Braves, 4-3, in 22 innings
1939 1st televised baseball game is broadcast on NBC, with Princeton defeating Columbia 2-1
1952 77th Preakness: Conn McCreary aboard Blue Man wins in 1:57.4
1953 Yanks & Browns use record 41 players in a game
1958 83rd Preakness: Ismael Valenzuela aboard Tim Tam wins in 1:57.2
1963 Houston Colt .45’s Don Notterbart no-hits Phillies, 4-1
1964 Phillies triple play Houston Colt .45s
1969 94th Preakness: Bill Hartack aboard Majestic Prince wins in 1:55.6
1969 Balt, Cleve & Pitts agree to go from NFC to AFC in NFL
1973 Joe Ferguson, hits the 6,000th Dodger home run
1973 Angels outfielder Bobby Valentine breaks his leg trying to scale wall to prevent a Dick Green home run during a 5-4 loss to the A’s
1974 18th European Cup: Bayern Munich beats Atletico Madrid 4-0 at Brussels
1975 100th Preakness: Darrel McHargue aboard Master Derby wins in 1:56.4
1979 Phillies beat Cubs, 23-22, on 50 hits with 11 HRs
1981 Islanders score 5 power play goals against Flyers in a playoff
1983 Stanley Cup Final, Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, NY: 4 consecutive titles for NY Islanders; sweep Edmonton Oilers in 4 games with a 4-2 Game 4 win
1984 Cincinnati Reds Mario Soto throws 4 strikeouts in one inning
1986 111th Preakness: Alex Solis aboard Snow Chief wins in 1:54.8
1992 Expos Gary Carter is 3rd to catch 2,000 games (joins Boone & Fisk)
1996 Habib & Whitaker make 320 for 5th Cricket wkt, Leics v Worcs
1997 122nd Preakness: Gary Stevens aboard Silver Charm wins in 1:54
1998 New York Yankees pitcher David Wells tosses a perfect game in a 4-0 win against the Minnesota Twins at Yankee Stadium, NY
2003 128th Preakness: Jose Santos aboard Funny Cide wins in 1:55.61
2003 English FA Cup Final, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff (73,726): Arsenal beats Southampton, 1-0; Robert Pires scores 38′ winner for Gunners’ 9th title
2006 14th UEFA Champions League Final: Barcelona beats Arsenal 2-1 at Saint-Denis
2008 133rd Preakness: Kent Desormeaux aboard Big Brown wins in 1:54.80
2008 English FA Cup Final, Wembley Stadium, London (82,752): Portsmouth beats Cardiff City, 1-0; Nwankwo Kanu scores 37′ winner
2014 English FA Cup Final, Wembley Stadium, London (89,345): Arsenal beats Hull City, 3–2 (a.e.t.); Aaron Ramsey scores 109′ winner
2014 139th Preakness: Victor Ezpinoza aboard California Chrome wins in 1:54.84
2015 The Tradition Senior Men’s Golf, Shoal Creek G&CC: Jeff Maggert wins first of 2 consecutive Champions Tour majors with par on 1st playoff hole against Kevin Sutherland
2018 Michigan State University will pay $500 million in claims to 300 survivors of sexual abuse involving Larry Nassar. Largest sexual abuse case in sports history.
2019 Brooks Koepka fires a 65 (-5) to set new record for lowest 36-hole score in a golf major at the PGA Championship at Bethpage State Park; 7 stroke lead is a 36-hole tournament record

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *