1889 15th Kentucky Derby: Thomas Kiley aboard Spokane wins in 2:34.50
1901 Cleveland’s Earl Moore no-hits Chicago White Sox 9 inn but loses in 10th 4-2
1914 40th Kentucky Derby: John McCabe aboard Old Rosebud wins in 2:03.4
1927 52nd Preakness: Whitey Abel aboard Bostonian wins in 2:01.6
1931 56th Preakness: George Ellis aboard Mate wins in 1:59
1932 57th Preakness: Eugene James aboard Burgoo King wins in 1:59.8
1937 Reds beat Phillies 21-10 (Ernie Lombardi goes 6 for 6)
1942 67th Preakness: Basil James aboard Alsab wins in 1:57
1944 Joe McCarthy returns as Yankee manager after an illness
1945 New balata ball used in baseball, 50% livilier
1958 Russian Mikhail Botvinnik recaptures world chess championship
1961 Baltimore Oriole Jim Gentile hits 2 grand slams (9 RBIs) vs Minnesota Twins
1971 Elizabeth Bonner runs female world record marathon (3:01:42)
1975 Brian Oldfield shot puts 22.86 m (world record)
1984 Chicago White Sox beat Milwaukee Brewers, 7-6, in 25 innings (started 5/8)
1986 NHL Prince of Wales Conference Final: Montreal Canadians beat New York Rangers, 4 games to 1
1989 NY Mets Kevin Elster, errors after 88 errorless games at shortstop
1989 NY Mets Rick Cerone, errors after 159 errorless games as catcher
1990 Sampdoria of Italy win 30th European Cup Winner’s Cup against Anderlecht of Belgium 2-0 in Gothenburg
1990 NHL Prince of Wales Conference Final: Boston Bruins beat Washington Capitals, 4 games to 0
1995 Cleveland Indians tie record of scoring 8 runs before making an out, they beat Twins 10-0
1997 San Diego Padres retire #35 worn by pitcher Randy Jones
2001 Accra Sports Stadium Disaster: 129 Ghanaian football fans die in a stampede caused by the firing of teargas by police following a decision by the referee in a crucial match between arch-rivals Accra Hearts of Oak and Kumasi Asante Kotoko
2010 Oakland A’s Dallas Braden becomes 19th pitcher to throw a perfect game (4-0 vs Tampa Bay)
2010 PGA Players Championship, TPC at Sawgrass: South African Tim Clark fires a final round 67 for his first PGA Tour victory, 1 stroke ahead of Robert Allenby of Australia
2013 Everton Manager David Moyes is announced as Sir Alex Ferguson’s successor at Manchester United (he only lasts 10 months)
2018 Manchester City smashes EPL records in 3-1 win over Brighton – most goals (105), most points (97) and most wins (31)
2019 English clubs create football history by taking all 4 final spots in Europe’s 2 major competitions; Chelsea & Arsenal qualify in Europa Cup after ‘miracle’ Champions League wins for Liverpool & Spurs

(Visited 25 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *