1910 35th Preakness: R Estep aboard Layminster wins in 1:40.6
1921 47th Kentucky Derby: Charles Thompson on Behave Yourself wins 2:04.2
1922 Belgian soccer team defeats Netherlands: 1-2
1922 NY Giant Jesse Barnes no-hits Phillies, 2-0
1925 Phillies have their 8th game postponed in a row
1925 MBA Pittsburgh Pirate shortstop Glenn Wright makes an unassisted triple play
1932 58th Kentucky Derby: Eugene James aboard Burgoo King wins in 2:05.2
1949 75th Kentucky Derby: Steve Brooks aboard Ponder wins in 2:04.2
1951 International Olympic committee allows Russia to participate in 1952 Olympics
1955 81st Kentucky Derby: Bill Shoemaker aboard Swaps wins in 2:01.8
1957 Indians’ pitcher Herb Score is hit by a line drive off Gil McDougald
1960 86th Kentucky Derby: Bill Hartack on Venetian Way wins in 2:02.4
1960 Dodgers Larry & Norm Sherry are baseball’s 10th brother battery
1960 LA Dodger Norm Sherry’s 11th HR wins the game for brother Larry
1960 Michael Tal beats Mikhail Botvinnik 12½-8½ for world chess championship
1966 92nd Kentucky Derby: Donald Brumfield aboard Kauai King wins in 2:02
1966 NY Yankees fire manager Johnny Keane
1969 2nd ABA championship: Oakland Oaks beat Indiana Pacers, 4 games to 1
1972 26th NBA Championship: LA Lakers beat NY Knicks, 4 games to 1
1977 103rd Kentucky Derby: Jean Cruguet on Seattle Slew wins in 2:02.2
1979 Gary Roenicke hits into Orioles 13th triple play (Oakland)
1982 Californian federal jury rules NFL violates antitrust laws in preventing Oakland Raiders move to Los Angeles Coliseum
1983 109th Kentucky Derby: Ed Delahoussaye wins aboard Sunny’s Halo for consecutive Derby victories (1982 Gato Del Sol)
1983 NHL Prince of Wales Conference Final: New York Islanders beat Boston Bruins, 4 games to 2
1986 Phillies outfielder Garry Maddox, retires
1986 30th European Cup: Steaua Bucuresti beats Barcelona (0-0, 2-0 on penalties) at Seville
1988 114th Kentucky Derby: Gary Stevens on Winning Colors wins in 2:02.2
1991 Haryana beat Bombay in the Ranji Cricket Trophy final by 2 runs
1994 120th Kentucky Derby: Chris McCarron on Go For Gin wins in 2:03.6
1994 Denver Nuggets become NBA’s 1st #8 seed to beat a #1 seed (Seattle)
2003 Arsenal thrash Southampton, 6-1 at Highbury to start Gunners’ amazing English Premier League record 49-game unbeaten streak; ends 24 October, 2004 with 2-0 defeat at Manchester United
2005 131st Kentucky Derby: Mike Smith aboard Giacomo wins in
2011 137th Kentucky Derby: John Velazquez aboard Animal Kingdom wins in 2:02.04
2016 142nd Kentucky Derby: Nyquist ridden by Mario Gutierrez wins in 2:01.31
2018 World Snooker Championship, Crucible Theatre, Sheffield: Welshman Mark Williams beats John Higgins of Scotland, 18-16; as promised, does his press conference in the nude
2021 Cincinnati Reds pitcher Wade Miley no-hits Cleveland Indians, 3-0 at Progressive Field, Cleveland

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *