1903 7th Boston Marathon won by Irishman John Lorden in 2:41:29.8
1908 12th Boston Marathon won by Tom Morrissey in 2:25:43.2
1908 Opening day of competition of the New South Wales Rugby League.
1910 Cleveland Naps Addie Joss 2nd no-hitter, beats Chicago, 1-0
1912 Fenway Park officially opens, Red Sox beat NY Highlanders 7-6 in 11
1912 Tiger Stadium in Detroit opens, Tigers beat Cleveland Indians 6-5
1914 18th Boston Marathon won by Canadian James Duffy in 2:25:01.2
1916 Chicago Cubs play their 1st game at Weeghman Park (now Wrigley Field) and beat the Cincinnati Reds 7-6
1920 Phillies manager Gravvy Cravath puts himself in as pinch hitter, his 3- run homer beats NY Giants 3-0
1925 29th Boston Marathon won by Charles Mellor in 2:33:00.6
1931 35th Boston Marathon won by Jim Henigan in 2:46:45.8
1931 British House of Commons agrees for sports play on Sunday
1936 40th Boston Marathon won by Ellison Brown in 2:33:40.8
1941 Dodgers start to wear liners in their caps
1942 46th Boston Marathon won by Joe Smith in 2:26:51.2
1944 NFL legalizes coaching from bench
1945 Cleveland Browns organization formed by Arthur ”Mickey” McBride
1946 1st baseball broadcast in Chicago, Cards vs Cubs
1949 Jockey Bill Shoemaker wins his 1st race, in Albany, California
1950 Balt’s Memorial Stadium opens – Orioles of International League
1953 57th Boston Marathon won by Keizo Yamada of Japan in 2:18:51
1957 Yankee Bill Skowron becomes 3rd player to hit a ball out of Fenway
1958 Stanley Cup Final, Boston Garden, Boston, MA: Montreal Canadiens’ 3-peat; beat Boston Bruins, 5-3 for a 4-2 for series win
1959 63rd Boston Marathon won by Eino Oksanen of Finland in 2:22:42
1964 68th Boston Marathon won for second straight year by Aurele Vandendriessche of Belgium in 2:19:59
1970 74th Boston Marathon: Englishman Ron Hill wins in 2:10:30 (US record): American Sara Mae Berman 1st woman for 2nd straight year in 3:05:07 (unsanctioned)
1972 Kallicharran scores his 2nd Test century in his 2nd Test Cricket
1981 85th Boston Marathon: Toshihiko Seko of Japan wins men’s race in 2:09:26; Allison Roe of New Zealand takes women’s title in 2:26:46
1982 Atlanta Braves become 1st team to win 1st 12 games of the season
1985 Carlos Lopes runs world record marathon (2:07:12)
1987 91st Boston Marathon: Toshihiko Seko of Japan wins 2nd title in 2:11:50; Rosa Mota of Portugal claims women’s event in 2:25:21; her first of 3 race victories
1988 Baltimore Orioles set worst record to start a season 0-14 (will go 0-21)
1988 NJ Devils 1st playoff hat trick-Eric Broten
1988 Yanks HR 9,999 (D Winfield) 10,000 (C Washington) 10,001 (J Clarke)
1990 8 2/3 inning perfect game pitched by Brian Holman of Oakland A’s is spoiled by a home run hit by Ken Philips
1991 Mark Lenzi is 1st diver to score 100 pts on a dive (101.85)
1992 96th Boston Marathon: Ibrahim Hussein of Kenya repeats in 2:08:14 for his 3rd title; Olga Markova first Russian women’s champion in 2:23:43
1996 Chicago Bulls win record 72 games in a season
1996 1996 NFL Draft: Keyshawn Johnson from USC first pick by New York Jets
1997 1st baseball game in Hawaii, Cards beat Padres in doubleheader
1997 Cubs beat NY Mets ending NL worst opening, lost 14 straight games
1998 102nd Boston Marathon: Moses Tanui of Kenya wins men’s title in 2:07:34; Fatuma Roba of Ethiopia wins back-to-back women’s events in 2:23:21
2002 NFL Draft: Fresno State quarterback David Carr first pick by Houston Texans
2008 Danica Patrick driving for Andretti Green Racing wins the Indy Japan 300 at Twin Ring Motegi; first female driver in history to win an IndyCar Series race
2009 113th Boston Marathon: Deriba Merga of Ethiopia wins men’s event in 2:08:42; Salina Kosgei of Kenya women’s champion in 2:32:16
2013 5 snowboarders are killed by an avalanche in Loveland Pass, Colorado
2015 119th Boston Marathon: Lelisa Desisa Benti of Ethiopia wins men’s race in 2:09:17; Caroline Rotich of Kenya women’s champion in 2:24:55
2018 Arsène Wenger announces he will leave London EPL club Arsenal after 22 years as manager
2021 All six EPL clubs withdraw from the controversial European Super League just 3 days after it was announced – Chelsea, Manchester City, Liverpool, Arsenal, Manchester United and Tottenham

(Visited 31 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *