1857 National Association of Baseball Players founded in New York
1883 England completes 1st innings victory in Tests vs. Australia at Melbourne Cricket Grounds
1905 Dutchman Coen de Koning wins the 1,500m, 5,000m & 10,000m at World Allround Speed Skating Championships in Groningen, Netherlands to become 2nd Dutchman to win a world title
1948 All time great England cricket spin bowler Jim Laker takes 7-103 in his first Test innings in 1st Test v West Indies in Bridgetown, Barbados
1953 1953 NFL Draft: Harry Babcock from University of Georgia first pick by San Francisco 49ers
1960 Paul Pender beats Sugar Ray Robinson for middleweight boxing title
1968 NBA announces expansion franchise licences awarded to Milwaukee (Bucks) and Phoenix (Suns)
1980 West Indies beat England 2-0 to win cricket’s 1st World Series Cup
1981 O A ”Bum” Phillips becomes head coach of New Orleans Saints
1983 Houston is 1st NBA team to be held scoreless in an overtime Portland Trail Blazers out score them 17-0 & win 113-96
1983 NFC Championship, RFK Stadium, Washington, D.C.: Washington Redskins beat Dallas Cowboys, 31-17
1984 Annette Kennedy of SUNY sets women’s basketball record with 70 pts
1984 Super Bowl XVIII, Tampa Stadium, Tampa, FL: LA Raiders beat Washington Redskins, 38-9; MVP: Marcus Allen, Los Angeles, RB
1987 Blizzard in NJ, as 334 attend Devils-Flame NHL game, NJ wins 7-5
1988 1st-class cricket debut of Hansie Cronje, OFS v Transvaal
1990 Will Clark, NL’s MVP signs a $15M 4-year contract with SF Giants
1994 45th NHL All-Star Game, Madison Square Garden, NYC: East beats West, 9-8; MVP: Mike Richter, NY Rangers, G
1998 NHL’s Minnesota franchise selects the nickname Wild
1998 World League of American Football renamed as NFL Europe
2006 AFC Championship, Mile High Stadium, Denver: Pittsburgh Steelers beat Denver Broncos, 34-17
2006 NFC Championship, Qwest Stadium, Seattle: Seattle Seahawks beat Carolina Panthers, 34-14
2012 AFC Championship, Gillette Stadium, Foxborough: New England Patriots beat Baltimore Ravens, 23-20
2012 NFC Championship, Candlestick Park, SF: New York Giants beat San Francisco 49ers, 20-17 (OT)
2017 NFC Championship, Georgia Dome, Atlanta: Atlanta Falcons beat Green Bay Packers, 44-21
2017 AFC Championship, Gillette Stadium, Foxborough: New England Patriots beat Pittsburgh Steelers, 36-17

(Visited 44 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *