1811 1st Women’s Golf Tournament held
1903 Baseball’s National & American Leagues make peace
1903 Frank Farrell and Bill Devery purchase the American League’s Baltimore baseball franchise for $18,000 and move it to NYC (later the NY Yankees)
1930 Boston Bruins wins then NHL record 14th straight game
1947 Providence Steamrollers guard Dino Martin becomes the first NBA player to ever score 40 points in a game, in a 91-68 win over Cleveland Rebels at Rhode Island Auditorium
1951 Washington Capitals NBA club folds
1952 Karel Sys wins European heavyweight boxing title
1953 Bevo Francis, Rio Grande College, scores 116 pts in basketball game
1954 Bert Olmstead of the Montreal Canadiens, ties NHL record of 8 points in game
1962 NFL prohibits grabbing of face masks
1967 NFL New Orleans’ franchise takes name ”Saints”
1975 Australia beat England by 171 runs in 4th Test to regain Ashes
1984 Braves pitcher Pascual Perez is arrested for cocaine possession
1985 Flames set NHL record 264th regular season game without being shut-out
1986 NY Islanders repeat their greatest shutout margin (9-0) vs Pittsburgh Penguins
1990 Boston Celtics worst ever (6 pts in 2nd vs NJ Nets) & lose 87-78
1991 Dean Smith of NC is 6th to win 700 career coaching basketball games
1993 Franziska van Almsick swims world record 100m free style (53.33)
1998 Boston Red Sox Mo Vaughn pleads not guilty to drunken driving
1999 Hopman Cup Tennis, Perth: Mark Philippoussis clinches Australia’s unassailable 2-0 lead, (ends 2-1), with a 6-3, 7-6 win over Sweden’s Jonas Björkman; Australia’s first title
2009 Hopman Cup Tennis, Perth: Dominik Hrbatý beats Russia’s Marat Safin 6-7, 7-5, 7-6 for an unassailable 2-0 lead, and Slovakia’s 3rd title
2012 College Football, 14th BCS National Championship, Louisiana Superdome, New Orleans: #2 Alabama beats #1 LSU, 21-0
2014 Yaya Toure wins African Footballer of the Year
2016 Hopman Cup Tennis, Perth: Australian Nick Kyrgios beats Alexandr Dolgopolov of the Ukraine 6-3, 6-4 for an unassailable 2-0 lead and the home nation’s second title
2017 College Football National Championship, Raymond James Stadium, Tampa: #2 Clemson beats #1 Alabama, 35-31

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *